Utah Safety Restrain Use Law

rev. 04/25/2012
Home >

A woman in a seatbelt.Utah law requires all motor vehicle occupants to wear a safety belt when traveling in a motor vehicle. The purpose of this law is to:

• protect Utahns from needless death and injury

• and reduce taxpayer costs resulting from traffic collisions.

Secondary Law

The law is a secondary law, which means a person may be issued a citation only when the police officer has stopped the vehicle for another reason, for drivers and passengers aged 19 years or older. Any person who violates this law is subject to a fine of $45, reduced to $30 upon completion of a defensive driving class. Exceptions to the law include individuals in motor vehicles manufactured before July 1, 1966 and individuals that possess written verification from a licensed medical doctor indicating that the person is unable to wear a safety belt because of physically disabling or medical condition.

Visitors from outside Utah are also required to wear a safety belt when traveling in Utah.

Primary Law

The law is a primary law, which means a person may be stopped and issued a citation for no other reason beside improper safety belt use, for drivers and passengers under the age of 19 years. Children aged 0 to 7 years must ride in an approved child safety seat and children aged 8 to 18 years must ride in a safety belt. The driver is responsible for unrestrained occupants in the vehicle under the age of 16, whether or not they are the parents of the unrestrained child.